Appointed by Secretary in Maryland:
1707-1714 Evan Thomas (resigned)
1714-1728 James Knowles (resigned)
1728-1763 Richard Tilghman III (resigned)
1763-1777 Richard Tilghman IV

Appointed by County Court Justices (Constitution of 1776, sec. 47):
1777-1779 Solomon Wright (resigned)
1780-1787 Charles Downes
1787-1810 Samuel Turbutt Wright
1810-1816 John Brown
1816-1832 Thomas Murphy
1832-1851 John Tilghman


Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 14):
1851-1857 John Palmer
1857-1863 Madison Brown
1863 James Wooters
1863-1865 Samuel E. Dyott

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 29):
1865-1867 Samuel E. Dyott

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25):
1867-1873 James Wooters
1873-1874 William A. G. Hobbs (D)
1874-1881 James Wooters
1881-1887 Samuel C. Dudley
1887-1892 William Dever (died Nov. 1892)
1892-1893 Lemuel Dunbracco
1893-1899 William H. Cecil
1899-1905 John E. George
1905-1911 Samuel Seney
1911-1917 William F. Watson (D)
1917-1923 J. Fletcher Rolph
1923-1926 B. Hackett Turner (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1934 B. Hackett Turner (D)
1934-1938 William H. Carter (D)
1938-1946 A. Sydney Gadd, Jr. (D)
1946-1950 Nellie B. Whiteley
1950-1958 Thomas Sorden Pippen (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 25, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1958-1962 Thomas Sorden Pippen (D)
1962-1978 Charles W. Cecil (D)
1978-1994 Marguerite W. Markin (D)
1994- Scott MacGlashan (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives