[photo, David R. Brinkley, Maryland Secretary of Budget & Management] DAVID R. BRINKLEY, Secretary of Budget & Management

Secretary of Budget and Management since February 13, 2015. Acting Secretary of Budget and Management, January 21 to February 13, 2015.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2015-; Children's Cabinet, 2015-; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2015-; Maryland Subcabinet for Public-Private Partnerships, 2013-15. Vice-Chair, Governorís Warrior to Worker Council, 2015- (chair, veterans recruitment for state employment subcommittee, 2015-). Member, Asbestos Oversight Committee, 2015-; Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee, 2015-; Behavioral Health Advisory Council, 2015-; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2015-; Coast Smart Council, 2015-; Commission on Correctional Standards, 2015-; Commission on State Debt, 2015-; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2015-; Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council, 2015; Maryland Green Building Council, 2015-; Maryland Green Purchasing Committee, 2015-; Maryland Health Care Reform Coordinating Council, 2015; Council for the Procurement of Health, Educational and Social Services, 2015-. Board of Directors, Maryland Health Insurance Plan, 2015-16. Member, Interagency Council on Homelessness, 2015-; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2015-; Coordinating Council for Juvenile Services Educational Programs, 2015-; Interdepartmental Committee for Minority Affairs, 2015-17; Council on Open Data, 2015-; Procurement Advisory Council, 2015-; Council for the Procurement of Health, Educational and Social Services, 2015-. Board of Trustees, State Retirement and Pension System, 2015- (corporate governance committee, 2013-; administrative committee, 2015-; audit committee, 2015-; investment committee, 2015-; chair, securities litigation committee, 2015-16). Member, Board of Revenue Estimates, 2015-; Maryland School-Based Health Center Policy Advisory Council, 2015; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2015 (operations & management advisory committee); Maryland Wine and Grape Promotion Council, 2015-17. Member, Commission to Modernize State Procurement, 2016; Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education, 2016-; Justice Reinvestment Oversight Board, 2016-; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee on Small, Minority, and Women Business Affairs, 2017-.

Member of Senate (Republican), representing District 4, Carroll and Frederick Counties, January 8, 2003 to January 15, 2015. Resigned January 15, 2015. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee, 2003-13 (education, business & administration subcommittee, 2003-06, 2011-13; health & human services subcommittee, 2007; pensions subcommittee, 2007, 2011-13; health, education & human resources subcommittee, 2008-10); Finance Committee, 2013-15; Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 2003-08, 2014-15; Joint Audit Committee, 2004-15; Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-06; Senate Special Commission on Electric Utility Deregulation Implementation, 2005-06; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2007; Spending Affordability Committee, 2007-08. Minority Leader, 2007-08, 2013-14. Member, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2007-10; Spending Affordability Committee, 2008-15. Minority Whip, 2010-11. Member, Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2011-13; Tax Credit Evaluation Committee, 2013-15; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2014; Joint Oversight Committee on the Maryland Health Benefit Exchange, 2014-15; Maryland Economic Development and Business Climate Commission, 2014-16; Rules Committee, 2015; Executive Nominations Committee, 2015; Legislative Policy Committee, 2015; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review, 2015. Senate Chair, Frederick County Delegation, 2015; Carroll County Delegation, 2013. Member, Maryland Rural Caucus, 2003-15; Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2003-15; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2004-15. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (agriculture, environment & energy committee, 2007-08; agriculture & energy committee, 2008-15; environment committee, 2008-15; financial services committee); Southern Legislative Conference (agriculture & rural development committee, 2008-15; fiscal affairs & government operations committee, 2008-15).

Member of House of Delegates (Republican), representing District 4A, Frederick County, January 11, 1995 to January 8, 2003. Member, Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1995-2003 (financial institutions subcommittee, 1995-2003; state government & procurement subcommittee, 1999-2003; chair, procurement subcommittee, 1998). Deputy Minority Whip, 1997-98. Member, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1999-2003.

Member, Task Force to Study Bank Charter Modernization, 1997-98; Task Force to Study the Modernization of Credit Union Law, 1999-2001; Task Force to Study the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program, 2003; Transportation Task Force, 2003; Maryland Advisory Commission on Manufacturing Competitiveness, 2003-; Task Force on the Exemption of Law Enforcement Officers' Pensions from Taxation, 2004-05; Transit Funding Study Steering Committee, 2006-07; Maryland Dairy Industry Oversight and Advisory Council, 2006-. Chair, Task Force to Study Statewide Gypsy Moth Infestation, 2008-09. Member, Task Force on Sustainable Growth and Wastewater Disposal, 2011; Maryland Medical Marijuana Model Program Work Group, 2011-12.

Member, Governor-elect's Transition Team, 2014-15.

Born in Frederick, Maryland, September 24, 1959. Attended Gettysburg College; University of Maryland, College Park, B.A., 1981; American College, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, C.L.U. (chartered life underwriter), Ch.F.C.(chartered financial consultant), 1985. Estate, retirement and financial planner. Charter member, Estate Planning Council of Frederick County, Maryland (past president). Member, Western Maryland Chapter, Society of Financial Service Professionals. Member, American Society of Chartered Life Underwriters and Chartered Financial Consultants. EMT & firefighter, 1981-86, advanced life support unit (emt driver), 1983-86, New Market District Volunteer Fire & Rescue Company. Member, Frederick Memorial Hospital Development Council (planned gifts committee, 1989-2000; special prospects committee, 2000-; order of the good samaritan, 2000-). Vice-Chair, Frederick County Republican Central Committee, 1990-94. Board of Associates, Community Foundation of Frederick County, Maryland, 1991-94. Maryland Public Policy Conflict Resolution Fellow, Center for Dispute Resolution, University of Maryland School of Law, 2007. Municipal Super Star, Maryland Municipal League, 2008, 2009 (certificate of appreciation, 2007, 2010, 2011). First Citizen Award, Maryland Senate, 2015. Two children.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright June 05, 2017 Maryland State Archives