Nakita Johnson Reed, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2020

Appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Thomas A. Liebel, 2018; Stuart D. Kaplow, Esq., 2019; Michael M. Li, 2019; Ryan M. Schwabenbauer, 2019; Cherise Y. Seals, 2020.

[photo, 301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland] Ex officio: Susan J. Gore, designee of Secretary of Budget & Management; Laura Armstrong, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Ellington E. Churchill, Jr., Secretary of General Services; Norman C. Wang, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Donald Van Hassent, designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; Anne B. Raines, designee of Secretary of Planning; Laura Rogers, designee of Secretary of Transportation; Christopher H. Russell, designee of Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Arabia B. Davis, designee of Executive Director, Interagency Commission on School Construction; Mark W. Beck, designee of Chancellor, University System of Maryland

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, Maryland, November 2003. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Steve Lauria

c/o Office of Facilities Planning, Design, & Construction
Department of General Services
301 West Preston St., Suite 1405, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-4163

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Nov. 1 (Chapter 116, Acts of 2007).

In June 2007, the Maryland Green Building Council was authorized (Chapter 116, Acts of 2007). [An earlier Maryland Green "Buildings" Council had convened in 2001-02.]

The Council evaluates current high performance building technologies. It recommends what cost-effective green building technologies the State could require to be used in the construction of State facilities and how to expand green building in Maryland. Also, the Council compiles a list of building categories in which green building technologies should not be used.

In June 2018, the Council further was charged with developing guidelines so that new public school buildings may achieve the equivalent of a LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) silver rating without being independently certified (Chapter 14, Acts of 2018; Code State Finance & Procurement Article, sec. 4-809(f)(6)).

In its annual report, the Council recommends an implementation plan for a State higher performance building program.

Of the Council's sixteen members, the Governor appoints six to two-year terms. Ten members serve ex officio (Code State Finance & Procurement Article, sec. 4-809).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 02, 2018 Maryland State Archives