Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1860 James T. M. Raley

1863-1865 G. Fred Maddox

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):
1865-1866 G. Fred Maddox

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1867-1871 James S. Downs
1872-1879 J. Parran Crane
1879-1891 Daniel C. Hammett (R)
1891-1895 B. Harris Camalier
1895-1899 Daniel C. Hammett (R)
1899-1911 B. Harris Camalier
1912-1916 William M. Loker
1916-1920 A. Keasley Love
1920-1927 John H. T. Briscoe (D)
1927-1931 Philip H. Dorsey (D)
1931-1939 John H. T. Briscoe (D)
1939-1947 C. Henry Camalier (D)
1947-1951 John H. T. Briscoe (D)
1951-1955 Joseph A. Mattingly (D)
1954-1958 Walter B. Dorsey (D)
1958-1963 Joseph A. Mattingly (D)
1963-1967 Charles A. Norris
1967-1975 Joseph D. Weiner (R)
1975-1979 George R. Sparling (D)
1979-1982 Neal P. Myerberg
1982-1998 Walter B. Dorsey (D)
1998- Richard D. Fritz (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives