Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. V, secs. 1-6):
1854 Joseph Hopkins Tarr

1860 Thomas H. Kemp (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. V, secs. 7-11):

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. V, secs. 7-12):
1870 Joshua W. Bryant
1871-1879 George M. Russum (R)

1885-1891 Marshall S. Mutchler
1891-1895 Robert J. Jump
1895-1899 William H. Deweese (D)
1899-1903 Albert G. Towers (R)
1903-1907 Thomas Alan Goldsborough (D)
1907-1912 Elmer W. Deen
1912-1920 Frederick R. Owens (R)
1920-1924 W. Brewster Deen
1924-1935 Frederick R. Owens (R)
1935-1947 Layman J. Radden (D)
1947-1959 James A. Wise (D)
1959-1967 James Owen Knotts
1967-1970 James A. Wise (D)
1970-1978 J. Owen Wise
1978-1986 Starke M. Evans (D) (resigned)
1986-2000 Christian J. Jensen (D) (resigned)
2000-2002 Robert J. Greenleaf (D)
2003-2016 Jonathan G. Newell (R) (resigned)
2016- Joseph A. Riley (R), Interim State's Attorney

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 01, 2018 Maryland State Archives