Appointed by Governor (Constitution of 1776, secs. 40, 41):
1777-1814 Joseph Richardson
1814-1822 John Young
1822-1825 George A. Smith
1825-1832 James Langston
1832-1851 William A. Ford

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1851, Art. IV, sec. 18):
1851-1852 John R. K. Horney
1852-1853 Henry C. Rawlings
1853-1859 William G. Nicholson
1859-1865 George H. Moore

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1864, Art. IV, sec. 46):
1865-1867 Robert H. Todd

Elected by Voters to 6-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41):
1867-1873 William Lockerman
1873-1896 James B. Steele (D)
1896-1912 Robert J. Jump (R)
1912-1919 Z. Potter Steele
1919-1923 John H. Pasterfield
1923 Margaret Pasterfield
1924-1926 J. Irwin Harwood (R)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. XVII, added by Chapter 227, Acts of 1922, ratified Nov. 7, 1922):
1926-1930 J. Irwin Harwood (R)
1930-1938 Joseph H. Carroll (D)
1938-1956 Carlton V. West (D)

Elected by Voters to 4-year terms (Constitution of 1867, Art. IV, sec. 41, amended by Chapter 99, Acts of 1956, ratified Nov. 6, 1956):
1956-1962 Carlton V. West (D)
1962-1978 Clifford L. Stafford (D)
1978-1994 Charles V. Moore (R)
1994-2010 Charles O. Davis, Jr. (D)
2010- James Phelps (R)

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 29, 2015 Maryland State Archives