[photo, Town Hall, 4 North Second St., Denton, Maryland] Caroline County has ten municipalities: Denton, Federalsburg, Goldsboro, Greensboro, Henderson, Hillsboro, Marydel, Preston, Ridgely, and Templeville. The oldest town in Caroline County is Denton, the county seat, incorporated in 1802. Thereafter, local governments formed at Federalsburg (1823), Greensboro (1826), Hillsboro (1853), Templesville (1865), Preston (1892), Ridgely (1896), Goldsboro (1906), Marydel (1929), and Henderson (1949).

Town Hall, 4 North Second St., Denton, Maryland, August 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 26, 2016 Maryland State Archives