c.1670. Grist mill established at Linchester.

1704. Treaty with Nanticokes.

1764. Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon surveyed north-south line, County's eastern border with Delaware.

1773. Caroline County created from parts of Dorchester and Queen Anne's counties; named in honor of Lady Caroline Eden, a sister of Frederick Calvert (6th Lord Baltimore), and wife of Sir Robert Eden, then Governor of Maryland.

1773, March 15-17. Court met at Melvill's Warehouse at Bridgetown (now between Denton & Greensboro).

1774. Nicholites or New Quakers organized in Caroline County.

1776, Sept. 16. Eastern Shore Battalion of Flying Camp fought under Colonel William Richardson at Battle of Harlem Heights.

1790. County records moved to Pig Point where Court was to meet.

1797. First Courthouse and jail completed at Pig Point (later Denton).

1797. Hillsboro Academy founded.

1802. Denton incorporated.

1806, May 30. Caroline County native, Charles Dickinson lost duel with Andrew Jackson at Harrison's Mills, Logan, Kentucky.

1823. Federalsburg incorporated.

1826. Greensboro incorporated.

1845. Denton Academy

1853. Hillsboro incorporated.

1863. Jim Wilson lynched near Oakland.

1865. Templeville incorporated.

1869. Segregated school system began.

1872. Sedge Field Academy, Ridgely.

1880, Aug. 23. Sophie Kerr (1880-1965), author, born in Denton. Her endowment to Washington College established the Sophie Kerr Prize, the largest undergraduate literary award in the nation.

1892. Preston incorporated.

1894. County Commissioners authorized to raze Courthouse.

[photo, Caroline County Courthouse, 109 Market St., Denton, Maryland] 1895. Second Courthouse constructed at Denton.

1895, July 2. Marshall E. Price lynched at Denton.

1896. Ridgely incorporated.

1906. Goldsboro incorporated.

1918, Oct.-Nov. Influenza epidemic in County.

1919, Aug. 15. Floods in County broke dams, swept away bridges, damaged roads, homes, and crops.

Caroline County Courthouse, 109 Market St., Denton, Maryland, October 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

1929. Marydel incorporated.

1949. Henderson incorporated.

1984. County Code Home Rule provided for self-government over local matters.

2004, March 2. Electronic voting system used during primary elections at polling places and for absentee ballots in all counties and Baltimore City.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 13, 2016 Maryland State Archives