Michael F. Goldman, Esq., Chair (chosen by Commission in June, 1-year term), 2021

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent to 3-year terms: Clarence C. Crawford, 2019

Appointed by Montgomery County Executive to 3-year terms: Kathryn H. Porter, 2017; Hoan Dang, 2017.

Appointed by Prince George's County Executive: Malcolm L. Augustine, 2019; Todd M. Turner.

Ex officio: Pete K. Rahn, Secretary of Transportation

Staff: Tammy Cooper,Office Manager; e-mail: tcooper3@mta.maryland.gov
Christine L. Wells, Senior Transit Analyst; e-mail: cwells1@mta.maryland.gov
Sara LeBarron,Financial Analyst; e-mail: slebarron@mta.maryland.gov
Pat Pscherer, Jr., Director, Washington Area Transit Office; e-mail: ppscherer@mdot.state.md.us

c/o Washinton Area Transit Programs
Maryland Department of Transportation
4351 Garden City Drive, Suite 305, Hyattsville, MD 20785
(301) 577-2063; fax: (301) 577-2193

In 1965, the Washington Suburban Transit Commission was created (Chapter 870, Acts of 1965).

The Commission administers the Washington Suburban Transit District and has powers to plan, develop, and oversee, on a bi-county basis, a transportation system, including mass transit facilities, for Montgomery County and Prince George's County, Maryland. It coordinates mass transit programs with the two county governments, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, and the Maryland Department of Transportation.

Within Montgomery and Prince George's counties, the Commission acts as the financial conduit for funding of mass transportation projects. It also is authorized to levy a property tax in each county to support mass transit services, and associated debt service and administrative costs.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed to three-year terms. Two are chosen by the Montgomery County Executive, and two by the Prince George's County Executive. With Senate advice and consent, the Governor appoints one member from Montgomery County and one from Prince George's County. One member serves ex officio. Annually, the position of chair alternates between Montgomery and Prince George's counties (Code State Government Article, secs. 15-820, 15-821; Transportation Article, sec. 10-205).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright March 22, 2018 Maryland State Archives