John F. Barr, Chair (chosen by Council in Dec., 1-year term), 2018
William R. Valentine, Vice-Chair (chosen by Council in Dec., 1-year term), 2018
James C. Hinebaugh, Jr., Secretary-Treasurer (chosen by Council in Dec., 1-year term), 2018

Western Maryland Senate Delegation: George C. Edwards; Andrew A. Serafini.
Western Maryland House of Delegates Delegation Chairs: Wendell R. Beitzel; Jason C. Buckel; Neil C. Parrott.

Board of County Commissioners: Jacob C. (Jake) Shade; William R. Valentine.
Appointed by Allegany County Board of County Commissioners to represent private sector: Stephen Nelson; Robert Smith.
Mayors (or designees) appointed by Allegany County Board of County Commissioners: Eugene T. Frazier; one vacancy.
Representing Allegany County: Jeffrey S. Barclay, Director, Dept. of Economic & Community Development

Board of County Commissioners: James C. Hinebaugh, Jr.; S. Larry Tichnell.
Appointed by Garrett County Board of County Commissioners to represent private sector: Merlin Beitzel; Jonathan Kessler.
Mayors (or designees) appointed by Garrett County Board of County Commissioners: H. Jay Moyer; Spencer R. Schlosnagle.
Representing Garrett County: Michael Hough, Director, Dept. of Economic Development

Board of County Commissioners: John F. Barr; Jeffrey A. Cline.
Appointed by Washington County Board of County Commissioners to represent private sector: Roger Fairbourn; John (Jack) Miller.
Mayors (or designees) appointed by Washington County Board of County Commissioners: James G. McCleaf II; Janeen N. Solberg.
Representing Washington County: vacancy, Director, Dept. of Business Development

Leanne D. Mazer, Director

c/o Allegany Business Center
One Technology Drive, Suite 1000, Frostburg State University, Frostburg, MD 21532
(301) 689-1300; fax: (301) 689-1313
e-mail: info@tccwmd.org
web: www.tccwmd.org/

Duties of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland originated with the Governor's Council for Appalachian Maryland in 1968. The Governor's Council was replaced in 1971 by the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland, a nonprofit corporation chartered to serve Maryland's western counties. Formerly under the Department of Economic and Community Development, the Council became an independent agency in 1986 (Chapter 861, Acts of 1986).

The Council is an association of the governments of Allegany, Garrett and Washington counties. It serves as a regional planning and development agency for the tri-county area. The Council works to enhance the quality of economic development in the region and strengthen relationships among its local governments.

Using State aid, the Council fosters the physical, economic and social development of Western Maryland. The Council also receives planning assistance funds from the federal Economic Development Administration and the Appalachian Regional Commission to administer regional economic development programs. Such programs create or retain permanent jobs and improve the standard of living for the unemployed and underemployed in the most distressed areas of the region. To facilitate planning, the Council may study regional resources; gather and analyze social and economic data; and join with other government agencies, educational institutions, and private organizations in coordinating research.

The Council's program for direct business assistance and enterprise development provides a variety of business financing tools and technical assistance, including a Revolving Loan Fund program, and Data Center Services. Local government aid focuses on grants writing and technical assistance, database resources, regional education, and intergovernmental cooperation.

Twenty-six members comprise the Council. From each county, two County Commissioners, the Economic Development Director, two mayors, and two private citizens serve on the Council. The House of Delegates delegation chairs from Allegany, Garrett and Washington counties and the area's two State Senators also serve on the Council. Annually, the Council submits its proposed program and operating budget for the next fiscal year to the Department of Business and Economic Development (Chapter 310, Acts of 2011; Code Economic Development Article, secs. 13-701 through 13-733).


The Western Maryland Education Consortium of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland originated in 1967 as the Educational Subcommittee of the Appalachian Regional Commission. It became the Regional Education Service Agency of Appalachian Maryland (RESA) in 1973 under a joint agreement by its member institutions. As a separate administrative unit of government it remained until 2006, when it merged with the Tri-County Council of Western Maryland and reformed as the Education Committee. In July 2009, the Committee reorganized as the Western Maryland Education Consortium.

Consisting of nine member, the Consortium represented the educational institutions in Western Maryland. The Consortium assessed education needs within the region and developed resources to meet them. It also worked to develop a strategic plan to integrate business and economic development needs with education goals.

In September 2017, the Consortium disbanded.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 13, 2018 Maryland State Archives