[photo, Sailboats docked on St. Leonard Creek, Calvert County, Maryland] John F. Hartline, Executive Director

P. O. Box 745
15045 Burnt Store Road, Hughesville, MD 20637 - 0745
(301) 274-1922; (301) 870-2520 (Washington, DC area); e-mail: info@tccsmd.org
web: www.tccsmd.org/

A Southern Maryland scene: Sailboats docked on St. Leonard Creek, Calvert County, Maryland, May 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Chosen by Council in Jan., 1-year term:
Todd B. Morgan, Esq., Chair
Edith J. Patterson, 1st Vice-Chair
Steven R. Weems, 2nd Vice-Chair
Matt Morgan, 3rd Vice-Chair
Debra M. Davis, Esq.; Mark N. Fisher; Ellen Flowers-Fields; Brian Raines; Helen M. Werneke. Terms expire 2019.

Appointed by Southern Maryland Municipal Association: Joseph W. Norris

Ex officio (nonvoting): R. Michael Gill, Secretary of Commerce; Robert S. McCord, Esq., Secretary of Planning.

Southern Maryland Senate Delegation: Thomas M. Middleton; Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.; Stephen M. Waugh.

Southern Maryland House of Delegates Delegation: Gerald W. (Jerry) Clark; Mark N. Fisher; Michael A. Jackson; Sally Y. Jameson; Matt Morgan; Edith J. Patterson; Elizabeth G. (Susie) Proctor; Deborah C. Rey; C. T. Wilson.

Board of County Commissioners: Michael Hart; Thomas C. Hejl; Patrick H. Nutter; Evan K. Slaughenhoupt; Steven R. Weems.

At-Large: Brian Raines
Nonvoting: Maurice T. Lusby III; Linda S. Vassallo.

Board of County Commissioners: Debra M. Davis, Esq.; Peter F. Murphy; Kenneth Robinson; Robert A. Rucci; Amanda M. Stewart.

At-Large: Ellen Flowers-Fields
Nonvoting: Darrell A. Brown; Stephen M. Bunker.

Board of County Commissioners: James Randy Guy; Michael L. Hewitt; Thomas H. Jarboe; Todd B. Morgan; John E. O'Connor.

At-Large: Helen M. Werneke
Nonvoting: Christopher Kaselemis; James Howard Thompson.

Formed on December 6, 1964, the Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland fosters the economic and social development of the southern Maryland counties (Calvert County, Charles County, & St. Mary's County). In 1965, the Governor recognized the Council as the cooperative planning and development agency for Southern Maryland. The Council was established by statute in 1966 and became a tax-exempt corporation in 1970 (Chapter 586, Acts of 1966; Chapter 573, Acts of 1970). The Council's enabling law was reenacted as State general legislation in 1976 (Chapter 708, Acts of 1976). In 1984, the status of the Council as an independent agency was confirmed (Chapter 373, Acts of 1984).

The Council brings together local, State and federal resources to address issues in economic development; environmental protection; and regional resource management, which includes transportation, utilities, urban growth and development, housing, and public facilities and services. Annually, the Council submits its proposed programs and operating budget for the next fiscal year to the Department of Commerce. At least every four years, the Council reevaluates the General Development Plan for Southern Maryland, following the election of State and local officials (Chapter 36, Acts of 1979).

Thirty-seven members make up the Council. Twenty-nine are voting members, and eight nonvoting (Code Economic Development Article, secs. 13-601 through 13-640).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright April 13, 2018 Maryland State Archives