Chair: Robert S. McCord, Esq., Secretary of Planning

[photo, Division of Historical and Cultural Programs, 100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland] Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:Susan Cooke Soderberg, 2019; Rebecca J. Stone, 2019.

Joseph M. Balkoski; Jenny M. Carson, Ph.D.; Nancy N. Kurtz; Renee M. Plumb; Dennis G. Rude; John C. Sprague; Daniel Carroll Toomey. Terms expire 2020.

Andre R. Martel; Barrett L. McKown; Peter K. Morrill; Lauren Schiszik; Anthony C. Wisniewski, Esq. Terms expire 2021.

Ivan V. Dooley; Stephen S. Hammond; Gail Schnell; Jari A. Villanueva. Terms expire 2022.

100 Community Place, Crownsville, Maryland, July 2016. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

[photo, Maryland Monument, Gettysburg Battlefield, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania] Staff: Nancy N. Kurtz

c/o Maryland Historical Trust
Division of Historical & Cultural Programs
Department of Planning
100 Community Place, 3rd floor, Crownsville, MD 21032 - 2023
(410) 697-9561; fax: (410) 514-7678

Maryland Monument, Gettysburg Battlefield, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, May 2003. Photo by Elizabeth W. Newell.

The Governor established the Governor's Commission on Maryland Military Monuments in January 1989 (Executive Order 01.01.1989.02). It was reauthorized later in 1989, 2004, 2008, 2011, and 2016 (Executive Order 01.01.1989.06; Executive Order 01.01.2004.59; Executive Order 01.01.2008.17; Executive Order 01.01.2011.06; Executive Order 01.01.2016.07).
[photo, Baron DeKalb statue, by Ephraim Keyser, State House grounds, Annapolis, Maryland] The Commission inventories Maryland military monuments. Each monument is identified by name, date of construction, location, and original sponsorship. Current ownership of both the monument and its site is noted with a complete description of the monument, including its construction materials; condition; theme; inscriptions, if any; and who is responsible for maintenance.

Statue of Baron Johann DeKalb, by Ephraim Keyser, State House grounds, Annapolis, Maryland, June 2000. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Baron DeKalb (1721-1780) led the Maryland Line at the Battle of Camden, South Carolina, August 16, 1780. He died at Camden on August 19, 1780, from wounds received in that battle.

[photo, Korean War Memorial, Canton Waterfront Park, 3001 Boston St., Baltimore, Maryland] For damaged monuments, the Commission assesses their historical significance, design, financial need, and physical condition to determine which monuments will receive financial assistance for restoration. Professional conservators and historic preservationists determine and carry out appropriate treatment for each monument. The Commission also assigns responsibility for maintenance of each monument and prepares educational and tourism materials for public distribution. From 1989 to 2014, the Commission has arranged for the cleaning and restoration of 108 Maryland military memorials, including 23 out of state.

Appointed by the Governor, the Commission consists of up to seventeen members. The Secretary of Planning serves as chair.

Korean War Memorial, Canton Waterfront Park, 3001 Boston St., Baltimore, Maryland, October 2016. Photo by Sarah A. Hanks.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 02, 2018 Maryland State Archives