Marion L. Mullauer, Chair (elected by Board in Jan., 1-year term), 2018

Appointed jointly by Governor & State Superintendent of Schools with Senate advice & consent & recommendations of Board Chair to 3-year terms: Paul W. Schroeder, 2017; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., 2018; Brian M. Ropp, 2018; Guy J. Guzzone, 2019; Mary L. Washington, 2019.

Elected by Board to 3-year terms:
Virginia Beauchamp; George S. (Greg) Jenkins III; Edward J. Veilleux. Terms expire 2017.

James Knell; Gary Lay; William S. Ratchford; Robin L. Zimelman, Esq. Terms expire 2018.

Kimberley G. Alfonso; Raymond Brown; Liza Brown-DiCostantino; Lorraine A. Costella, Ph.D.; Susan Klein; Irene Knott. Terms expire 2019.

Mark Booker; Heidi Kaiser; Karen Malinowski; Renee Winsky. Terms expire 2020.

one vacancy

Nonvoting members: Michael J. Bina, Ed.D., President & Chief Executive Officer; Raleigh Brent, William E. Buchanan, James J. Datovech, Directors Emeritus.

Michael J. Bina, Ed.D., President & Chief Executive Officer

3501 Taylor Ave., Baltimore, MD 21236
(410) 444-5000, ext. 1710; fax: (410) 319-5700

Located in Northeast Baltimore, the Maryland School for the Blind was incorporated in 1853 as the Maryland Institution for the Instruction of the Blind, and adopted its present name in 1868. A private, nonprofit school, it educates blind or visually impaired children and youth, including those with multiple disabilities, from infancy to age 21.

In addition to traditional classroom subjects, students at the Maryland School for the Blind may learn Braille or low-vision techniques, orientation and mobility skills. The School also provides assistive technology; audiology; career education; health and dental services; infant and toddler services; psychological evaluations; speech, physical, and occupational therapy; and therapeutic recreation. For students over five years of age, residential services are available. The School is accredited by the National Accreditation Council for Agencies Serving the Blind and Visually Handicapped and the Middle States Association for Colleges and Secondary Schools.

To govern the School, the Board of Directors was created in 1998 (Chapter 617, Acts of 1998). The Board consists of twenty-five members. Five are appointed jointly by the Governor and State Superintendent of Schools. Twenty are elected by the Board of Directors (Code Education Article, sec. 8-314).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright September 12, 2017 Maryland State Archives