Appointed by Secretary of Health: not yet appointed

Appointed by Secretary of Health: James M. Chamberlain, M.D.; Beth Ann Langrell; Timothy Shanahan, M.D.; April A. Sharp.

Ex officio (county health officers): Scott T. LeRoy, Caroline County; Roger L. Harrell, Dorchester County; Leland D. Spencer, M.D., Kent County; Joseph A. Ciotola, Jr., M.D., Queen Anne's County; Fredia S. Wadley, M.D., Talbot County.

Ex officio: Kenneth D. Kozel, Chief Executive Officer, University of Maryland Shore Regional Health; Victoria W. Bayless, Chief Executive Officer, Anne Arundel Medical Center; Sara K. Rich, Chief Executive Officer, Choptank Community Health Systems, Inc.

Vacancy, Executive Director (chosen by Executive Committee)

Staff: Fredia S. Wadley, M.D.

c/o Talbot County Health Department
100 South Hanson St., Easton, MD 21601
(410) 819-5606

Report to Governor & General Assembly on standards & criteria for approving a rural health complex due Dec. 1, 2020 (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

Annual Report to Govenor & General Assembly on health care delivery in mid-shore region due Dec. 1, beginning 2021 (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

In July 2018, the Rural Health Collaborative Pilot was created (Chapter 606, Acts of 2018).

The Collaborative is to head a regional partnership to build a rural health system that accesses and uses health care services for providing health care; aligning with the State's Medicare Waiver; and improving rural health. Further, the Collaborative will mediate disputes within the partnership; assist local health care providers in collaborating; and promote rural economic development in the mid-shore region. In addition, the Collaborative will ensure that county officials and residents are aware of health needs, and available resources in the mid-shore region.

For communities that lack access to essential community-based primary care, behavioral health, dental care, or specialty care, the Collaborative will work to establish rural health complexes. After assessing local needs, identifying care delivery models, and building concensus on the local level, the Collaborative will recommend to the Secretary of Health the building of a rural health complex.

The Collaborative has between twenty-nine and 35 members appointed by the Secretary of Health. The twelve members of the Executive Committee also are members of the Collaborative.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 09, 2018 Maryland State Archives